Archive for the ‘Astro Calendar’ Category

h1

2013 astro events

January 25, 2013

2013 astronomy events

Got this via Facebook. Dunno where it’s from, but I like it, and I certainly agree with the sentiment.

 

Advertisements
h1

May 2011 Astro Calendar

May 5, 2011

Zoiks, a little late this month! Don’t miss the meteors, I saw quite a few already last weekend (April 30).

MOON PHASES

  • May 2 (Mon) 11:50 PM PDT / 6:50 UT (Tues) – New moon
  • May 10 (Tues) 1:32 PM PDT / 20:32 UT – First quarter moon
  • May 17 (Tues) 4:07 AM PDT / 11:07 UT – Full moon
  • May 24 (Tues) 11:51 AM PDT / 18:51 UT – Last quarter moon

MOON CONJUNCTIONS

  • May 13-14 (Fri-Sat), waxing gibbous moon passes Saturn (13th) and Spica (14th), but not particularly closely.

PLANET POSITIONS

  • Mercury waxing crescent to waxing gibbous in the morning sky, greatest western elongation May 7.
  • Venus waxing gibbous in the morning sky, following greatest western elongation on Jan 8.
  • Mars rises before dawn, but stays close to the horizon.
  • Jupiter rises before dawn, following conjunction with sun on April 6.
  • Saturn rises shortly after sunset, following opposition on April 3.
  • Uranus rises before dawn, in Pisces.
  • Neptune rises before dawn, in Aquarius.

PLANET CONJUNCTIONS

  • May 7-15, Mercury, Venus, and Jupiter within 5° of each other.
  • May 15-25, Mercury, Venus, and Mars within 5° of each other.

METEOR SHOWERS

  • May 6 (Fri) Eta Aquarid meteors. Active April 19-May 28. Predicted to be a very favorable year.
h1

April 2011 Astro Calendar

March 26, 2011

MOON PHASES

  • April 3 (Sun) 7:32 AM PDT / 14:32 UT – New moon
  • April 11 (Mon) 5:05 AM PDT / 12:05 UT – First quarter moon
  • April 17 (Sun) 7:43 PM PDT / 2:43 UT (April 18) – Full moon
  • April 24 (Sun) 7:46 PM PDT / 2:46 UT (April 25) – Last quarter moon

MOON CONJUNCTIONS

  • April 6 and 7 (Wed & Thurs), waxing crescent moon passes Pleiades (6th) and Hyades (7th) in the western sky
  • April 16 (Sat), nearly full moon passes Saturn in the eastern sky
  • April 29-May 1 (Fri-Sun), waning crescent moon passes four bright planets–Mercury, Venus, Mars, and Jupiter–in the eastern sky, 30 minutes before sunrise

PLANET POSITIONS

  • Mercury waxing crescent in the morning sky, inferior conjunction with sun April 9, greatest western elongation May 7.
  • Venus waxing gibbous in the morning sky, following greatest western elongation on Jan 8.
  • Mars rises before dawn, but stays close to the horizon.
  • Jupiter rises before dawn, following conjunction with sun on April 6.
  • Saturn rises shortly after sunset, following opposition on April 3.
  • Uranus rises before dawn, in Pisces.
  • Neptune rises before dawn, in Aquarius.

PLANET CONJUNCTIONS

  • April 19 (Tues), Mercury and Mars less than 1° apart, 15 minutes before sunrise.
  • April 23 (Sat), Uranus 1° above Venus before sunrise.
  • April 29-May 1 (Fri-Sun), Mercury, Venus, Mars, and Jupiter close to each other and to the waning crescent moon, 30 minutes before sunrise.

METEOR SHOWERS

  • April 22 (Fri) Lyrid meteors. Active April 16-25. Predicted to be an unfavorable year.