h1

May 2011 Astro Calendar

May 5, 2011

Zoiks, a little late this month! Don’t miss the meteors, I saw quite a few already last weekend (April 30).

MOON PHASES

  • May 2 (Mon) 11:50 PM PDT / 6:50 UT (Tues) – New moon
  • May 10 (Tues) 1:32 PM PDT / 20:32 UT – First quarter moon
  • May 17 (Tues) 4:07 AM PDT / 11:07 UT – Full moon
  • May 24 (Tues) 11:51 AM PDT / 18:51 UT – Last quarter moon

MOON CONJUNCTIONS

  • May 13-14 (Fri-Sat), waxing gibbous moon passes Saturn (13th) and Spica (14th), but not particularly closely.

PLANET POSITIONS

  • Mercury waxing crescent to waxing gibbous in the morning sky, greatest western elongation May 7.
  • Venus waxing gibbous in the morning sky, following greatest western elongation on Jan 8.
  • Mars rises before dawn, but stays close to the horizon.
  • Jupiter rises before dawn, following conjunction with sun on April 6.
  • Saturn rises shortly after sunset, following opposition on April 3.
  • Uranus rises before dawn, in Pisces.
  • Neptune rises before dawn, in Aquarius.

PLANET CONJUNCTIONS

  • May 7-15, Mercury, Venus, and Jupiter within 5° of each other.
  • May 15-25, Mercury, Venus, and Mars within 5° of each other.

METEOR SHOWERS

  • May 6 (Fri) Eta Aquarid meteors. Active April 19-May 28. Predicted to be a very favorable year.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: