h1

Dollar store mustard bottle sun finder

August 20, 2017

IMG_1050.JPG

Probably self-explanatory from the picture, but just in case: tape it to the scope, parallel to the tube, and when the spot of light coming through the nozzle is centered on the bottom of the bottle, you’re on target. Some nice sunspots today.

IMG_1060.JPG

Update August 23 – Another nice thing I discovered at the eclipse: because the condiment bottle is translucent (at least this model), you don’t have to get behind it to see if it’s working. Peering through the side of the bottle is good enough. Handy when the sun is high in the sky.

2 comments

  1. Good one. I made a sun funnel for the Venus transit and am using a film canister for targeting Sol.


  2. […] spot of sunlight. I ended up going with a $1 empty condiment bottle, which I already blogged about here. When we rolled into Imperial that afternoon, I unpacked all of the gear and did a test run on the […]



Leave a comment