h1

Worth reading: Uncle Rod’s grab-n-go shootout

June 22, 2012

Hi folks,

I’ve been too busy to post lately, thanks to day-job work and a research trip to New York. But life continues apace elsewhere in the astroblogosphere, including at Uncle Rod’s Astro Blog, where astronomical observer, speaker, and writer Rod Mollise just posted an excellent head-to-head comparo between his Short Tube 80 refractor and StarBlast 4.5 reflector. Getting a handle on the performance of small telescopes is a topic near and dear to my heart, so get on over there for a well-written post packed with genuinely useful information.

Hopefully I’ll find time soon to get something up. In the meantime, clear skies!

One comment

  1. Awesome, thanks for the heads-up on this! I will review with great interest, since I’m interested in comparing the performances of small scope Newtonians, achromat refractors, and catadioptric scopes myself. I do know that Uncle Rod briefly talked about how the Starblast 4.5 performed compared to his ST80 in an earlier article sometime in the late 2000’s. Now I’d like to read this more comprehensive report.

    I also want to compare my Skyscanner 100mm with my ST80 on deep sky objects, which I haven’t gotten around to doing yet.

    Hope to get you a blog within the next week (or two).



Leave a Reply

