h1

Al-most the-ere

November 15, 2009

s-trench1

Well, I did get out of bed this morning and catch the very, very old crescent moon. It was just a white sliver hanging in the sky below Venus, like the very edge of a cosmic thumbnail.

One more to go: the waxing crescent moon within 40 hours of new. Tomorrow night will be too soon, and Wednesday night will be too late, so if I’m going to finish the Lunar Club this month, Tuesday is my only hope. If there are clouds to the west, or if the vast stew of atmospheric sludge over LA is too dense, I’ll be thwarted.

Fingers firmly crossed.

Waning gibbous moon in 15x70s

The waning gibbous moon from a little over a week ago, photographed through my 15x70 binoculars.

4 comments

  1. Well? Did you get it? The sky is clear here, so I assume it is for you, too.

    🙂


  2. And a gentle reminder…How do you shoot pictures through your binoculars? Mine would come out all shaky if I don’t have both the binoculars and camera mounted.


  3. Well? Did you get it?

    No, darn it. The sky was clear in general, but the section of it over LA was groady. No moon. Better luck next month.

    And a gentle reminder…How do you shoot pictures through your binoculars?

    Oh yeah, I’ve been owing you a post on that for _months_ now. Thanks for the prod. I’ll get something out soon.


  4. […] the holidays. My best observation here so far didn’t require any optical aid at all. Remember last month when I was skunked in my quest to view the young crescent moon within 40 hours of new? On Thursday, […]



Leave a Reply

